Australian PM Morrison starts official visit to Vietnam

Friday, 2019-08-23 10:12:26
 Font Size:     |        Print

Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc (R) hosts an official welcome ceremony for his Australian counterpart Scott Morrison in Hanoi on August 23, 2019. (Photo: NDO/Tran Hai)
 Font Size:     |  

NDO – Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison and his spouse have arrived at Hanoi, beginning an official visit to Vietnam from August 22 to 24 at the invitation of Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc.

>>> Deepening Vietnam-Australia strategic partnership

>>> PM Morrison to focus on economic, security, people to people cooperation during Vietnam visit

Accompanying Australian PM Morrison and his wife are Chief of the Prime Minister's Office, Dr. John Kunkel; Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Dr. Martin Parkinson; Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Frances Adamson; National Security and Senior International Advisor, Michelle Chan; and Australian Ambassador to Vietnam, Robyn Mudie; among other Australian officials.

Australian PM Morrison was born on May 13, 1968, in Sydney, Australia, with a Bachelor of Science honours degree in applied economic geography at the University of New South Wales, Australia.

From 1989 to 1995, he was the National Manager at the Policy and Research Property Council of Australia.

Between 1995 and 1996, he served as Deputy Chief Executive of the Australian Tourism Task Force.

He was General Manager of the Australian Tourism Council from 1996 to 1998, Director of the New Zealand Office of Tourism and Sport for 1998-2000 and State Director of the Liberal Party of Australia, New South Wales Division from 2000 to 2004.

In the 2004-2006 period, he was Managing Director of the Tourism Australia Agency. He was a member of the Parliament of Australia in 2007.

Morrison held the position of Minister for Immigration and Border Protection from 2013 to 2014, Minister for Social Services from 2014 to 2015 and Treasurer from 2015 to 2018.

Since August 2018, he serves as Prime Minister, Leader of the Liberal Party of Australia, Chairman of the Liberal Party of Australia and Leader of the ruling Liberal-National Coalition.