Tennis: Vietnam seals promotion slot for Group 2 at Davis Cup 2020

Saturday, 2019-06-29 11:00:34
 Font Size:     |        Print

Trinh Linh Giang continues his impressive form to help Vietnam book an automatic promotion to Davis Cup - Asia/Oceania Group II in 2020. (Photo: Vietnam Tennis Federation)
 Font Size:     |  

NDO – Vietnam tennis team officially earned their right to play in Davis Cup - Asia/Oceania Group II in 2020, after beating Kuwait 3-0 in their final group matchday at the ongoing 2019 Davis Cup - Asia/Oceania Group III in Singapore on June 28.

>>> Vietnam take another step towards Davis Cup promotion slot

After previously gaining two consecutive victories, over Sri Lanka and hosts Singapore, the Vietnamese team entered the final matchday with Kuwait with high confidence.

Vietnam only needed to win one of the three confrontations, of two singles and a doubles match, against Kuwaiti players to ensure winning the top position in Group A, aka earning an automatic Davis Cup promotion slot.

Against underdogs Kuwait, the Vietnamese players had spectacular victories. In the first match, Trinh Linh Giang easily trounced Maqdes Abdullah 6-3, 7-5. In the second match, Vietnamese No. 1 star Ly Hoang Nam was superior to his opponent, Alawadhi Abdulrahma. Nam overwhelmed and won 6-0, 6-1 after only 52 minutes.

Quoc Khanh - Hoang Nam (R) seal a 3-0 victory for Vietnam. (Photo: Vietnam Tennis Federation)

The final match gave a little bit trouble for duo Ly Hoang Nam - Le Quoc Khanh. Against opponents Ghareeh Mohammad - Maqdes Abdullah, it took more than 1.5 hours before the Vietnamese players finally won 2-1 (6-2, 5-7, 6-1) after three tense sets, thereby lifting the team to a convincing overall 3-0 win to consolidate their top spot in Group A and also grasp the promotion ticket to Davis Cup - Asia/Oceania Group II in 2020.

On June 29, the Vietnamese team will play the final match of the 2019 Davis Cup - Asia/Oceania Group III with Syria, who defeated Iran 3-0, Qatar 3-0 and Malaysia 2-1 to become the Group B winners.