Huynh Nhu’s extra-time goal helps Vietnam clinch AFF Women’s Championship trophy

Tuesday, 2019-08-27 20:58:21
 Font Size:     |        Print

Vietnamese players celebrate their third AFF Women's Championship title in history. (Photo: VFF)
 Font Size:     |  

NDO – Striker Huynh Nhu scored a late winner in extra time as Vietnam beat Thailand 1-0 in the final of the 2019 AFF Women’s Championship on August 27 to clinch the overall trophy in a dramatic fashion, denying the Thais a fourth title in a row.

Thailand had the better of the first half, but could not turn their possession into a goal. The most noticeable attack of the home side was just a strike off the post from 35 metres in the 25th minute.

Despite their slow start, Vietnam possessed the most clear-cut opportunity of the opening half in the 38th minute, as Huynh Nhu’s delightful pass put teammate Tuyet Dung in a one-on-one with Thai keeper Yada Sengyong. However, the 25-year-old midfielder placed a shot wide to the regrets of the coaching staff.

After the break, Thailand maintained their pressure with constant attacks, but the Vietnamese side still played solidly to prevent the hosts from producing any real threats.

Goalie Kim Thanh rescued Vietnam from falling behind by parrying a shot in the 73rd minute.

Failing to get on the scoresheet during the 90 official minutes, both teams were forced to go into extra time to decide the game.

Striker Huynh Nhu (in white) slots in from close range to seal a 1-0 victory for Vietnam.

In the 95th minute, all members of the Vietnamese team burst into joy as Huynh Nhu slotted it in from close range to put her side ahead 1-0.

The remainder of extra time saw Thailand push hard to equalise the score, but Vietnamese girls fought bravely to keep their advantage until the final whistle.

With the victory, Vietnam became the new champions of the AFF Women’s Championship. This is the third time in history the Vietnamese team have come out on top overall at the regional tournament, following their previous two triumphs in 2006 and 2012.