Hanoi FC defend national U21 title, matching Song Lam Nghe An’s record

Monday, 2019-10-21 11:43:25
 Font Size:     |        Print

Hanoi FC celebrate their fifth national U21 championship trophy.
 Font Size:     |  

NDO – Hanoi FC successfully defended their crown at the National U21 Football Championship after edging past Pho Hien FC 1-0 in the final match on October 20 thanks to a solitary goal by Vu Tin.

With a better lineup, Hanoi FC promptly took control of the game and forced their opponents to play on the defence.

However, Duong Hong Son’s players could not capitalise on their opportunities to find the back of the net within the first 45 minutes.

The second half continued to witness a lopsided game in favour of Hanoi FC. It was not until the 68th minute that the capital side’s constant pressure was rewarded, with Vu Tin headed home from close range to open the scoring.

The unexpected goal forced Pho Hien FC to intensify their attacks in seeking an equalizer, but Hua Hien Vinh’s troops could not break through Hanoi’s solid defence and had to admit a 1-0 defeat overall.

Hanoi players celebrate their victory.

By beating Pho Hien FC, Hanoi FC claimed the national U21 title in style maintaining a winning run throughout the tournament. In addition, the victory has helped Duong Hong Son’s side to match Song Lam Nghe An’s record of five national titles.

Hanoi FC’s joy was also multiplied as two of their players, Tran Van Dat and Quang Van Chuan, were named the most valuable player and the best goalkeeper of the competition, respectively.

Viettel forward Tran Danh Trung pocketed the “golden boot” award with five goals.

After the tournament, some players of Hanoi FC will join the national U21 squad to attend the International U21 Football Tournament, scheduled to kick off on October 30 in the central coastal city of Da Nang.

Tran Van Dat (Hanoi FC) is named the most valuable player of the tournament.

Viettel forward Tran Danh Trung wins the "golden boot" award with five goals.

Quang Van Chuan (Hanoi FC) is voted the best goalkeeper of the tournament.