Football: Nine teams to compete for national women’s crown

Tuesday, 2021-04-27 09:51:08
 Font Size:     |        Print

Ho Chi Minh City I are the reigning champions of the National Women's Football Championship.
 Font Size:     |  

NDO – The 2021 National Women’s Football Championship will kick off on May 18 with the participation of nine teams, one more than the previous edition, as announced at the draw ceremony held by the Vietnam Football Federation (VFF) in Hanoi on April 26.

The participating clubs include Hanoi I Watabe, Hanoi II Watabe, Phong Phu Ha Nam I, Phong Phu Ha Nam II, Ho Chi Minh City I, Ho Chi Minh City II, Son La, Vinacomin and Thai Nguyen T&T.

The tournament will run in a double round-robin format to decide the overall winners, with each team being allowed to make a maximum of five substitutions per match, in accordance with the FIFA’s substitution rule in the context of COVID-19.

The first leg is expected to run from May 18 to June 20, while the return leg is set for July 12-August 13.

After 23 seasons, Hanoi’s teams have won the most national titles (10), followed by representatives from Ho Chi Minh City (9 – including two in the last two years).

At the draw ceremony. (Photo: VFF)

At the draw ceremony, the VFF announced the Thai Son Bac Electric Equipment Trading Co., Ltd as the main sponsor of the National Women’s Football Championship for the 10th consecutive time.

Accordingly, the 2021 champions will receive a cash prize of VND300 million, while the runners-up and the third-placed team will be awarded respective stakes of VND200 million and VND100 million.

Phong Phu Ha Nam I will clash with Son La FC at Ha Nam Stadium in the opening match on May 18.