Foreign leaders extend Lunar New Year greetings to General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong

Leaders of many countries, political parties and international organisations have sent their greetings to General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong on the occasion of the Vietnamese Lunar New Year (Tet).
General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong. (Photo: Nhan Dan)
General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong. (Photo: Nhan Dan)

In his letter, Lao General Secretary and President Thongloun Sisoulith said that on behalf of the Lao Party and people, he extends the warmest greetings to the Party and State leaders and people of Vietnam.

He congratulated Vietnam on its resounding victories and historic achievements during its revolutionary cause and expressed his strong belief that under the sound leadership of the Communist Party of Vietnam, headed by General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong, the Vietnamese people will continue to record greater achievements to realise the goal of a wealthy people and a strong, democratic, just and civilised nation, advancing firmly towards the goal of socialism.

The Lao leader also expressed his pride that the Vietnam-Laos relationship of great friendship, special solidarity and comprehensive cooperation nurtured by generations of the two countries’ leaders continues to be strengthened and further deepened in all fields.

He thanked Vietnam’s tremendous, valuable, effective and timely support for Laos in recent times and wished the bilateral relationship to remain evergreen and sustainable forever.

On the occasion of Tet, General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong also received greetings from General Secretary of the Workers' Party of Korea and President of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea Kim Jong-un, Russian President Vladimir Putin, Singaporean President Halimah Yacob and Prime Minister Lee Hsien Long, President of the Republic of Korea Yoon Suk Yeol, Japanese Prime Minister Kishida Fumio and his spouse, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas, Chairman of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference Wang Yang, Chinese Vice President Wang Qishan, General Secretary of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation Zuyganov, and Chair of the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle Megawati Sukarnoputri, as well as other leaders of many countries, political parties, international organisations and diplomatic missions in Vietnam.